Twenty-six writers of poetry and short stories responding to David Oluwale have been selected and the winners will be announced on 27th April. 70 entries were received in a competition organised by Fictions of Every Kind and the Big Bookend in partnership with the RememberOluwale charity.

The world-renowned writers Caryl Phillips (author of one of the main texts on David Oluwale and patron of the charity), Marina Lewycka and Ian Duhig will decide on the best poems and stories.  Prizes will be awarded on 3rd June in Leeds.

An anthology of the 26 on the long-list, plus already-published work relating to David Oluwale by Linton Kwesi Johnson, Kester Aspden, Caryl Phillips, Ian Duhig, Zodwa Nyoni, Sai Murray, and members of the writing group The Baggage Handlers (facilitated by Rommi Smith) will be published by Valley Press in June, edited by SJ Bradley of Fictions of Every Kind. It will include introductions from SJ Bradley and Max Farrar.

The full long-list and further information is available here